EUROPEAN ASSOCIATION FOR EARTHQUAKE ENGINEERING



Central Office:Boğaziçi University, Kandilli Observatory and Earthquake Research
Institute, Çengelköy, Istanbul, 34684 TurkeyTelephone:90-216 332 5530Fax:90-216 462 1932E-mail:ansal@boun.edu.trHome Page:http://www.eaee.org

President: Mihail Garevski (Republic of Macedonia), e-mail: garevski@pluto.iziis.ukim.edu.mk Vice-Presidents: Martin Koller (Switzerland), e-mail: martin.koller@resonance.ch Mauro Dolce (Italy), e-mail: Mauro.Dolce@protezionecivile.it Secretary-General: Atilla Ansal (Turkey) Secretary: Andreas J. Kappos (Greece), e-mail: Andreas.Kappos.1@city.ac.uk Treasurer: Rainer Flesch (Austria), e-mail: Rainer.Flesch@ait.ac.at Zygmunt Lubkowski (UK), Carlos S. Oliveira (Portugal), Alain Pecker (France) Executive Committee: Honorary Members: Drazen Anicic (Croatia), Peter Fajfar (Slovenia), Ali Akbar Moinfar (Iran), Bozidar Pavicevic (Montenegro) Emil Sever Georgescu (Romania), Rudolf Heuer (Austria) Audit Committee:

RULES FOR EAEE WORKING GROUPS

Adopted on September 2012

Article 1.

The Working Groups of the European Association for Earthquake Engineering are established by the decision of the Executive Committee upon the proposal by a National or Organisational or Individual Member. The objectives and the organisation of the Working Group should be summarised in the proposal and should cover a fairly broad area of Earthquake Engineering.

Article 2.

Working Groups are expected to carry out realistic number of activities suggested below during their four year term,:

- 1. To organise Working Group meetings at least every two years
- 2. To organise and edit one special issue in the Bulletin of Earthquake Engineering,
- 3. To organise and edit books, preferably for the Springer book series on "Geotechnical, Geological and Earthquake Engineering"
- 4. To organise workshops or seminars;
- 5. To prepare a state-of-the-art or state-of-the-practice report to be presented at the European Conference and/or to be published in the Bulletin of Earthquake Engineering,
- 6. To contribute to the organisation of one speciality session at the European Conference on Earthquake Engineering and/or in the engineering block during the General Assembly of the European Seismological Association
- 7. To organise groups for the preparation and submission of EU FP Project proposal at least once every four years and if granted coordination of these projects;
- 8. To seek financial support from national or international organisations (in co-ordination with the Executive Committee) to carry out Working Group activities.

Article 3.

Working Groups may be formed for establishing close co-operation among Individual, Organisational and National Members and other international organisations on topics related to earthquake engineering.

Article 4.

Working Groups shall be composed of experts willing to cooperate closely with the Executive Committee and to organise the WG activities within the framework of "Rules for EAEE Working Groups".

Article 5.

The term of all Working Groups ends by the beginning of the first upcoming European Conference on Earthquake Engineering organised by EAEE every four years.

Article 6.

The newly elected Executive Committee shall review the achievements of each Working Group and shall decide to extend or end the mission of each WG, depending upon the needs of the Association.

Article 7.

Each Working Group is coordinated by a Coordinator or Co-Coordinators (in case of joint Working Groups with other international organisations) and depending upon areas of interest and geographical distribution to improve regional activities and existing bilateral or regional collaborations.

Article 8.

Each WG Coordinator shall submit a work plan with a list of programmed activities, a budget and estimated financial support that can be obtained from national or international sources, to the Executive Committee by the end of September for each programmed activity or every two years.

Article 9.

The Coordinator or Co-Coordinator from EAEE are nominated by the Executive Committee and are appointed by the President. The members of each Working Group can be nominated by the National Committees or the Coordinator for the approval of the Executive Committee.

Article 10.

A member of the Working Group may be deleted from the membership list with the recommendation of the Coordinator by the Executive Committee if he or she does not contribute to Working Group activity for more than two years.

Article 11.

The Working Group may produce documents such as those described under Article 2 either collectively, or by setting up Project Teams (PT) that will prepare these documents. The coordinator(s) of each PT is (are) appointed by the WG, while their membership can include both members and non-members of the WG. The term of PT's is normally two years, and can be extended for up to two more years, at the discretion of the WG Coordinator.